RSS

How to Organize Your Important Documents

23 Mar

This morning, I read a post on keeping your information safe in a “home safe” instead of a safety deposit box.  It is a good read and has valuable information.

In addition to that, I would like to share how I personally organize my important documents, anything from birth certificates, automobile registration, insurance, home insurance, mortgage papers to even a child’s special award.

You only need two or three items:

Avery Diamond Clear Quick Load Sheet Protectors 73802, Acid-Free, Box of 50

These particular sheet protectors are archival safe.

They are also quick load.  Not only does it make it simpler to retrieve a document from the sheet if needed but often times, they will hold a few more sheets than the sheet protectors that are only open on the top or side.

Avery Business Card Protector Sheets without Tabs; 10 sheets/pack

Use these for Social Security Cards or business cards of important people in your life such as your insurance person, your dentist, your pastor, etc.

Avery Heavy-Duty View Binder

Use the size binder necessary for your documents.  Remember, if you have this handy for a “bug out bag” or simply stored for safety, you may need to tote this binder with you.  My suggestion is to load it with everything you need, but don’t overload.  That’s why I only have one award for each of my children included in this binder.  Remember, you can always increase the size of binder you need as your life’s documentation changes.

Avery CD Pages 75263, Acid-Free, Pack of 5

You may also want to add a page or two of the CD pages for any electronic documents or photographs.

My binder has been used for years.  If I need to take the complete binder with me, it’s easy enough.  If I only need one document, remove the page, protector sheet and all.  When I return home, it’s easy to replace.  If you always replace the document the minute you walk back into the house, you will never again have to wonder where to locate a particular document.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Life Made Simple

 

Leave a comment